Black mogul Byron Allen buys 11 TV stations for $305 million

share on:

*The epic move not only expands his broadcasting empire but will strengthen and improve the digital footprints of these local stations

“We plan to invest approximately $10 billion to acquire ABC, CBS, NBC and Fox television stations over the next three years”

Byron Allen, CEO and founder of Entertainment Studios is making giant moves, it has been reported by company is also the parent company of thegrio) that he has acquired 11 broadcast television stations from USA Television Holdings LLC and USA Television MidAmerica Holdings LLC (collectively, USA TV) for an estimated $305 million. This move is said to be part of Allen’s desire to own one of the biggest media broadcasting companies in America in it’s feb12 publication had reported that

“Allen Media Broadcasting, a division of Entertainment Studios, closed on the deal on Tuesday.This move signifies a commitment by Allen to expand his company’s broadcast holdings, reported Deadline.”

While offering a statement over the new development, Allen’s media group stated that;

“Over the past six months we’ve invested nearly $500 million to acquire best-in-class, top-tier, broadcast network affiliates,” Allen said. “We plan to invest approximately $10 billion to acquire ABC, CBS, NBC and Fox television stations over the next three years with the goal of being one of the largest broadcast television groups in America.”

These new additions to Allen’s company are expected to be dedicated to local content and the intention is to have them become stronger on both their broadcast and digital platforms.

These are the stations covered by the USA TV deal:(list according to thegrio.compublication)

WAAY, WAAY-D2 (ABC, ION) — Huntsville, Decatur, and Florence, Alabama

WFFT (Fox) — Ft. Wayne, Indiana

KEZI, KEZI-D2, KEZI-D3 (ABC, ION, METV) — Eugene, Oregon

KNVN*, KNVN-DT2*, KHSL, KHSL-D2, KHSL-D5 (NBC, Telemundo, CBS, CW, Ion) — Chico and Redding, California

WTVA, WLOV*, WTVA-D2 (NBC, Fox, ABC) — Columbus, Tupelo and West Point, Missouri

KDRV, KDRV-D2 (ABC, antenna TV) — Medford and Klamath Falls, Oregon

KIMT, KIMT-D2, KIMT-D3 (CBS, MyTV, Ion) — Rochester, Minnesota, Mason City, Iowa, and Austin, Minnesota

WTHI, WTHI-D2, WTHI-D3 (CBS, Fox, MyTV, CW) — Terre Haute, Indiana

WLFI, WLFI-D2, WLFI-D3 (CBS, CW, Ion) — Lafayette, Indiana.

share on:

leave a comment if you can please

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

share on: